Principal's Pen

Dear Parents, Caregivers and friends of the school,

Tena Koutou Katoa Nga mihi nui Ki a Koutou Katoa,

Thank you to the large number of parents and whanau who supported our Family Fun Night last Thursday. The buzz, atmosphere and energy was there for all to see, as our emerging adolescents displayed their creativity and entrepreneurial skills. My thanks to Claire Janes and our entire teaching staff for their collective coordination of the event. I would also like to thank our new PTA Chairperson, Sheree Gray and the Friends of the PTA for their wonderful support of the event.

Our first round of student conferences were well received and it was pleasing to hear positive feedback from a number of families. The student conferences are an integral part of our school’s teaching and learning programme and we are committed to ensuring that the process delivers on our goal of improved information to parents and caregivers about their children’s progress and achievement. We now look forward to next term as the goals set are achieved and we are able to celebrate successes. As always, we welcome feedback on the process so please email me at if you have any comments. We are always looking to continually improve and genuinely want to hear from you.

Our first elective programme for the year begins on Monday, 29 April. For those new to BIS, we run three elective programmes each year (term 2 -term 4), where we offer our students a range of activities each Monday. Elective options change from term to term and we regularly survey our students to see what other activities they would like. With 25 choices for term 2, there really is something for everyone. Some of our electives for term 2 are:

Sports - Squash, Running, Netball, Fitness & Problem solving, Basketball, Gymnastics
The Arts - the School Production (Beauty and the Beast), Rockband, Drawing / Origami (The Finest Motor Skills)
Language - Beginners Mandarin, NZ sign language, Speak Up (public speaking skills)
Science/ Environment - Water Rockets, Eco Warriors, Gardening (Reap what you sow)
Other - Digital learning (including coding & robotics), Hair Styling, Relaxation, Lip Sync, Book Club

By the end of this week, all students need to have chosen three electives, one of which we guarantee they will get into. Students will be informed of their electives before the school holidays.

House sport has been very exciting and competitive this term, as has the two weekly house points announced in assembly. Pencarrow House took out first place in our inaugural House Chant competition in week 7. We will upload the four chants to the school website soon. There is a team of staff and students working on widening the house based activities over the next couple of terms. This is led by Erin Loader and the student house leaders. We look forward to this exciting development.

Another busy term awaits us in term two with more opportunities, exciting events and challenges for our students and staff to be involved in. Until then we would like to wish all our family and whanau a very happy holiday. Term two commences on Monday, 29 April and we hope it will be filled with celebrations and many successes as challenges are met and goals are achieved.    

Thank you to Claire Janes and Lauren Tyler for the start they have made to the coordination of our school production of Disney’s ‘Beauty and the Beast Jr’. Please see below for further information about the production and audition process.

Finally, I would like to congratulate the following students who have received Principal’s awards last week: Rhian Gates, Summer Roberson, Jeanne Zhou, Daniel Tepu, Alexandra Perkins, Tom Clark, Lucy McCann and Alfie Steedman.
Warm regards,
Nga mihi nui,

Nick Hill